

Council (Special)

Wednesday 5 September 2012 2.00 pm

(Special meeting convened under the provisions of Section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972)

Council Chamber, Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend



COUNCIL (Special)

Wednesday 5 September 2012, at 2.00 pm Council Chamber, Town Hall, Sheffield, S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend

MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

THE LORD MAYOR (Councillor John Campbell)
THE DEPUTY LORD MAYOR (Councillor Vickie Priestley)

1	Arbourthorne Ward Julie Dore John Robson Jack Scott	10	Dore & Totley Ward Keith Hill Joe Otten Colin Ross	19	Mosborough Ward David Barker Isobel Bowler Tony Downing
2	Beauchief & Greenhill Ward Simon Clement-Jones Roy Munn Clive Skelton	11	East Ecclesfield Ward Garry Weatherhall Steve Wilson Joyce Wright	20	<i>Nether Edge Ward</i> Nikki Bond Anders Hanson Qurban Hussain
3	Beighton Ward Helen Mirfin-Boukouris Chris Rosling-Josephs Ian Saunders	12	Ecclesall Ward Penny Baker Roger Davison Diana Stimely	21	Richmond Ward Martin Lawton Lynn Rooney
4	Birley Ward Denise Fox Bryan Lodge Karen McGowan	13	Firth Park Ward Shelia Constance Alan Law Chris Weldon	22	Shiregreen & Brightside Ward Peter Price Sioned-Mair Richards Peter Rippon
5	Broomhill Ward Jayne Dunn Shaffaq Mohammed Stuart Wattam	14	Fulwood Ward Sue Alston Andrew Sangar Janice Sidebottom	23	Southey Ward Leigh Bramall Tony Damms Gill Furniss
6	Burngreave Ward Jackie Drayton Ibrar Hussain Talib Hussain	15	Gleadless Valley Ward Steve Jones Cate McDonald Tim Rippon	24	Stannington Ward David Baker Katie Condliffe
7	Central Ward Jillian Creasy Mohammad Maroof Robert Murphy	16	Graves Park Ward Ian Auckland Bob McCann Denise Reaney	25	Stockbridge & Upper Don Ward Alison Brelsford Richard Crowther Philip Wood
8	Crookes Ward Sylvia Anginotti Rob Frost Geoff Smith	17	Hillsborough Ward Janet Bragg Bob Johnson George Lindars-Hammond	26	Walkley Ward Ben Curran Neale Gibson Nikki Sharpe
9	<i>Darnall Ward</i> Harry Harpham Mazher Iqbal Mary Lea	18	Manor Castle Ward Jenny Armstrong Terry Fox Pat Midgley	27	West Ecclesfield Ward Trevor Bagshaw Adam Hurst Alf Meade
				28	Woodhouse Ward Mick Rooney

Jackie Satur Ray Satur John Mothersole

Chief Executive

Paul Robinson, Democratic Services
Tel: 0114 2734029
paul.robinson@sheffield.gov.uk

PUBLIC ACCESS TO THE MEETING

The Council is composed of 84 Councillors with one-third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to the residents of their Ward. The overriding duty of Councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them

All Councillors meet together as the Council. Here Councillors decide the Council's overall policies and set the budget each year. The Council appoints the Leader and at its Annual Meeting will appoint Councillors to serve on its Committees. It also appoints representatives to serve on joint bodies and external organisations.

A copy of the agenda and reports is available on the Council's website at www.sheffield.gov.uk. You can also see the reports to be discussed at the meeting if you call at the First Point Reception, Town Hall, Pinstone Street entrance. The Reception is open between 9.00 am and 5.00 pm, Monday to Thursday and between 9.00 am and 4.45 pm. on Friday, or you can ring on telephone no. 2734552. You may not be allowed to see some reports because they contain confidential information. These items are usually marked * on the agenda.

Members of the public have the right to ask questions or submit petitions to Cabinet meetings. Please see the website or contact Democratic Services for further information.

Council meetings are normally open to the public but sometimes the Council may have to discuss an item in private. If this happens, you will be asked to leave. Any private items are normally left until last. If you would like to attend the meeting please report to the First Point Reception desk where you will be directed to the meeting room.

FACILITIES

There are public toilets available, with wheelchair access, on the ground floor of the Town Hall. Induction loop facilities are available in meeting rooms.

Access for people with mobility difficulties can be obtained through the ramp on the side to the main Town Hall entrance.

COUNCIL (Special) AGENDA 5 SEPTEMBER 2012

Order of Business

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members to declare any interests they have in the business to be considered at the meeting

3. HONORARY FREEDOM OF THE CITY OF SHEFFIELD - MS. JESSICA ENNIS

The Lord Mayor to move:-

"That under and by virtue of the provisions of Section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Honorary Freedom of the City of Sheffield be conferred by the Council on Ms. Jessica Ennis, M.B.E., winner of Olympic, World and European Heptathlon Championships, in recognition of the eminent service rendered by her to the sport of athletics and to the City."

Chief Executive

Dated this 30 day of August 2012

The next ordinary meeting of the Council will be held on 5 September 2012 at the Town Hall

ADVICE TO MEMBERS ON DECLARING INTERESTS AT MEETINGS

The existing Standards regime will be abolished from 1st July, 2012 by the Localism Act 2011. From this date, the way that your interests need to be registered and declared will change. Prejudicial and personal interests will no longer exist and they have been replaced by Disclosable Pecuniary Interests (DPIs).

The Act also requires that provision is made for interests which are not Disclosable Pecuniary Interests and requires the Council to introduce a new local Code of Conduct for Members. It is intended that provision will be made in the new Code for dealing with "personal" interests.

The Regulations in relation to Disclosable Pecuniary Interests have only recently been published by the Government and guidance is being developed for circulation to you prior to 1st July.

If at all possible, you should try to identify any potential interest you may have before the meeting so that you and the person you ask for advice can fully consider all the circumstances before reaching a conclusion on what action you should take.

Advice can be obtained from Lynne Bird, Director of Legal Services on 0114 2734018 or email lynne.bird@sheffield.gov.uk